Some people may be confused about the difference between a pharmacy tech license and certification. 

And for good reason. It can be a bit confusing, especially since they both sound like they are synonyms. But in truth, they are quite different, and we will tell you why. 

Pharmacy Tech License vs Certification

First, licensure is the process by which a government agency permits you to work as a pharmacy technician. It shows that you have met the state’s specific requirements. And that you have proven you are qualified for this type of job. 

The requirements for license application will vary state by state. Some states do not even have license requirements to be a pharmacy technician and work in a pharmacy. 

On the other hand, to obtain certification to be a pharmacy technician, you will need to meet a non-governmental agency’s requirements and pass a national exam. 

Agencies that provide certifications are the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) and the National Healthcare Association (NHA). 

Accreditation for a pharmacy technician means that you have met the necessary level of knowledge, skill, and experience to be a pharmacy technician. 

Because some states do not require licensure to be a pharmacy technician. You can be nationally certified and not be a licensed pharmacy technician. But to get a license as a pharmacy technician, you can assume that you will need to have your PTCB certification. 

How To Get a Pharmacy Tech License

Just like what we have said earlier, getting a license as a pharmacy technician will vary from state to state. So it is best to know whether your state requires licensure to be a pharmacy technician or not. And, if they do, know what the requirements are. 

Even though the requirements to obtain a license as a pharmacy technician varies from state to state, there are some standard requirements. 

  • Age requirements
  • Certification standards
  • Education degree
  • Application fees

To know the details and requirements for application and application for licensure, you must contact your state’s licensing agencies. 

Each state’s licensing agencies have their own offices, but most states also allow for online applications. If you want to apply online, look for your state’s licensing agency website. 

Examples Requirements To Get a Pharmacy Tech License

Here are the requirements of how to get a pharmacy tech license in a few states:

In the state of Massachusetts, you will need the following:

  1. Board-Approved Training Program or a minimum of 500 hours of employment as a pharmacy technician trainee
  2. Have passed either a
    1. Board-approved pharmacy technician assessment examination
    2. Board-approved pharmacy technician certification examination
  3. Age requirement of at least 18 years of age
  4. Good character and not convicted of a drug-related felony
  5. High school diploma or equivalent, or currently enrolled in a program that awards such a degree or certificate

In the state of Indiana, you will need the following:

  1. Board-Approved Training Program
  2. To pass an Indiana Board approved examination 
  3. Age Requirement Of At Least 18 Years Of Age
  4. High school diploma or equivalent
  5. Has not been convicted of crimes
  6. Criminal background check

In the state of Florida, you will need the following:

  1. Pharmacy Technician Registration Application
  2. Age Requirement Of At Least 18 Years Of Age
  3. High school diploma or equivalent
  4. Board-Approved Training Program

Leave a Reply